About Us

We are located on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the Syilx/Okanagan people.

Fighting food insecurity in the beautiful Boundary region of British Columbia. We are 100% volunteer driven organization with a 0% food waste policy. We strive to make sure that those in need have equal access to nutritionally complete foods. To fulfill our 0% waste policy, we redistribute what we can to other local organizations tackling hunger because when we work together, we are Boundary Strong!

Our mandate is to get food to those who need it, not just those people who use the Food Bank directly. This includes providing bread for the school breakfast programs, food for women in need at the Women’s Resource Centre/Transition House, and sandwiches, meat and produce for lunch programs run by various organizations.

The Boundary Community Food Bank is a 100% volunteer-run organization that is 100% supported by donations from our community. Located in Grand Forks, B.C., we provide food support for residents in need in the Boundary region, serving the area from Christina Lake in the east, to Rock Creek, Bridesville, and Beaverdell in the west.

Our clients are a diverse group, including seniors, families, and individuals. We help the working poor, the disabled, single parents, seniors, children, and any others who just can stretch their dollar to the end of the month. Homeless people make up only a small percentage of our clientele. All our clients allocate a portion of their limited resources towards food, but they may need assistance in meeting all of their food needs.

Our Food Bank provides clients with enough food for their family for up to 5 to 7 days during a month. Some clients only use our services during winter months, when heating bills are high. Others are one time users when they are between jobs. This is particularly true for our senior or disabled clients, who live on fixed pension income.

Many people are under the misconception that once people start receiving help from the Food Bank, they are clients for life. We collect statistics of client use and find that, while we do have some longer term clients, most of people we serve do not visit the food bank every month and the majority require our help for about two years before we no longer see them. Myth: Food banks create dependence among the people they help

The Board of Directors for 2023-24 is:

Vice President                         Janet Thorpe             

Secretary                                 Linda Caron               

Treasurer                                Cindy Strukoff           

Inventory Coordinator           Lynda Hynes              

Communication Coordinator            Debbra Wrigley         

Facility Coordinator               Chris Palmer              

Director at Large                     Kristy Benson            

Director at Large                     Dean Scown               

Director at Large                    Margaret Dietrich      

Director at Large                     Pamela MacGregor